Life and death crash

About a year ago, I came across an accident on the road near my home.  It had just happened and the police had not yet arrived.  I stopped to see what I could do and found a gal belted in to an SUV that was flipped over in the ditch; someone was already talking with her but I went to see what I could do or say also.  I was able to chat with her until the police came and try to offer her reassurance and comfort.  I tried to have wisdom on whether or not to try to get her out or not, based on the extent of her injuries, etc… in this case, I felt it was best to wait for the professionals and just help them in any way I could.  

I have no idea if this woman was at fault in causing the crash or if she was just an innocent piece of collateral damage from someone else’s mistake – or if it was simply an accident.  I guess at that moment in the ditch, with her crying and bleeding while sitting suspended, it didn’t really matter to me.  Helping her was my priority.  I can’t imagine I would have withheld helping her if I saw a bunch of beer cans at the scene, or smelled pot coming from her car, or whatever.  There was no evidence of any of that, but if there were, would I have just gotten back in my car and drove on? What if there were 100 cars in the crash?  I can’t imagine driving on without trying to at least help 1 or 2 people.

This is a critical issue with Our Response.  I’ve heard it said the people of Africa brought on poverty and AIDS themselves; I’ve heard it said that the problem is just too big.  First let me say that the first statement makes me shudder and the second statement makes me weep.  But, here’s the thing:  No matter how you feel, there are cars scattered along the side of the road with people hanging upside down and bleeding.  How can we continue to drive by without stopping?  These are human beings, just like you and me, with families, dreams, and purpose – can you imagine hanging upside down in a car, bleeding to death, and no one stops?  Put yourself in that situation – what would be going through your mind?  Our Response, and all of the efforts to alleviate human suffering, is about caring enough about our fellow brothers and sisters in this world, that we stop our cars, see how we can help, and come alongside the experts to make a difference.

Look out the side windows of your car for crashes – they are everywhere – from poverty to disease to oppression to homelessness to hopelessness. Then have the balls (or female equivalent) to stop the car and see what you can do to help.  That is our appropriate response.

Leave a comment